As the US is heading toward fall, we are heading toward spring. And it cannot happen soon enough. I had a dose of the sun today, just a little teaser, and it makes me nostalgic for Arizona. I love the sun.

Something interesting about paying bills and such here—you directly deposit into someone’s account. They give you their account information, you deposit the money, and the bill is paid. We spend so much time in the US protecting our account information, this whole process seems counter-intuitive. Here is a stub from a bill I paid for yesterday (sorry that is not rotated, but my internet is too slow and I am too impatient to figure it out):

I picked up a class for tomorrow and Thursday evenings, so I am now on three classes (one that meets twice a week). We hope to use this extra cash for groceries and daily expenses, but with the food being so delicious, it will probably go to trying new restaurants (I guess when it’s all said and done, we may have nothing to show for it, but man, we will have eaten well).

I also got a manicure/pedicure today for 41 soles. That’s about ~$11. One nice thing about not speaking the language is that I didn’t have to make small talk with the manicurist/pedicurist. Oh and in case you are interested, I have red toenails and blue fingernails.

Thanks to some new friends, I have managed to figure out the combi system.  I’m still not sure if I am helping or contributing to the smog of Lima, but one thing is for sure, it’s a helluva lot cheaper to take a bus then to take a cab.

Here are some random pictures I have taken over the last week:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

