Gringos here say “adios!” when leaving.  Limeño say, “chau!”  I tell everyone “buenos dias,” regardless if it is morning, noon or night. I’m working on it, but I can never tell if it is actually late enough to say “buenas noches,” or not, considering everyone eats at 10:00 pm.

My vocabulary has vastly improved since being here; I can read articles and such and get the gist of what is being said. However, I cannot figure out how to put it all together.  When someone talks to me, I have to think about every word in their sentence, and my initial reaction is to shut down. I have to tell myself to listen (I think listening is a skill I’ve been working on for 32 years…), and when I do listen, I get a word or two here and there. I sometimes get what is being said, but more often then not, I can pick out a few words and then I have to think really, really hard about them.  Jason says that one day it will click, putting all the words together, the conjugations, and I have to believe he’s right (I’m determined and I will prevail, damnit!).  How do people do it, LOL?!

I rode the combi to San Isidro last night, and I had the chance to experience a musician who played for a bit. I took a video of him, and then politely gave him a few soles.  He was really good: 

