It’s Friday afternoon, and I thought I’d write a post on my lunch break.  I must say it’s really weird working at a desk for 8 hours a day. It’s incredibly difficult for me to be still, let alone sit for 8 hours—I am learning though.  And I am so grateful for this job, and I am happy doing it.  Here is the poster for the Study Abroad program at USIL that I’ve been working on:

BUT, I miss my old job, a lot. I knew that my theatre job in Lafayette would end; I knew that when I took the job.  And even though over the years, I have had a love/hate relationship with it, and I miss it terrible. I miss teaching and working with the kids, I miss the excitement of opening night and the opening night jitters the kids get.   I miss my office mates and the parents.  It was a great theatre, and I hope one day, wherever we land, I find one just like it (or I am stupid enough to start my own, LOL).  If  you want to check out my old theatre and what they are doing, here is a link: Civic Theatre of Greater Lafayette

But on a different, happier note, it’s starting to get warmer and sunnier as the days progress. I am getting really excited for the warm weather and the idea of seeing the sun every day.  The supermarkets have put up Christmast decorations, and, even though it’s only the beginning of November, I will give them a pass since they don’t celebrate Thanksgiving here. We are steadily approaching our month(s) of visitors, and I am so excited to be able to show everyone around. And we are heading to Cusco, Machu Picchu, Arequipa and Lake Titicaca in about 2 months.  I am so beyond excited to see the Inca ruins.  Did you hear that Lonely Planet  named Iquitos (this is in the Amazon part of Peru) one of the top travel destinations of 2011?

Iquitos---an Amazon Adventure

Now that I am working full time, the dogs do not have me at home to  sleep on.  I miss those little rascals, even if they did nothing all day but lay around; they certainly kept me company.  Our housekeeper now comes two days a week, Mondays and Fridays (100 soles a week), when Jason and I are gone for 10 hours during the day. It seemed too mean to leave the dogs alone for that long, and Teo seems to get along with them rather well. I did notice, before I was working Miranda would just sleep on Teo’s feet while she was doing the dishes or ironing. We are going to be those crazy, helicopter parents when we have kids, aren’t we?

And for my wonderful father-in-law, here are some pictures of the girls:

That's Stray hiding under there

She looks miserable, doesn't she?

