I celebrated my first birthday in Lima.  On Saturday, we had a blast at Jockey Plaza, the Lima version of Hollywood and Highland in LA), shopping for blouses/tops for me, and then found ourselves at Tony Roma’s (Apparently, malls are the same every where around the world with the same chain restaurants…) to cheer on Barcelona against Real Madrid.  Many beers and a win later, we found ourselves back at home, and I passed out from too much booze and too much bad-for-you-food by 10 pm.

We did drink a commemorative beer, from the Lima club team, Alianza, and although the design resembles Miller Light, it was quite a delicious beer.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So it is official; we are old.  Yesterday was officially my birthday, and we stayed in. I had a Spanish lesson and worked a little on some stuff for my job, but otherwise that is it. I figured since we have our first houseguest coming tonight and then two more by the end of the week, that I will have plenty of time to celebrate.

Although, I must say that yesterday I did have a bout of homesickness.  There is nothing like a birthday or holiday to make you miss home.  I did get a zillion birthday wishes on Facebook, and I made the effort to thank each and every person who posted on my wall (I hope)—I figured it was the least I could do, because I am ever so grateful to all of those who remembered me (thanks Facebook reminders!).

