Not much new to report here.  We are officially moved in to the new place, and no information regarding our deposit.  I hope that we do get some of that money back, and that the expats were wrong.  It’s just a sad situation to know that we followed the protocol by agreeing and upholding our part of the lease agreement, but our landlord (despite talking with us about how he is not the typical Peruvian and will give us our money back and not to worry, etc) is not following through.  I can only hope he turns it around, and we do see some of our money.  I lost a lot of sleep over the issue, but I have come to terms with the fact that we did the right thing, regardless if we get our money back.  And if we don’t get our money back, well, it’s just money and that’s the way the cookie crumbles so to speak.

But our new apartment is amazing.  The view is spectacular, and I could spend hours just looking outside. It’s like we are living in a swanky hotel (with a really slow elevator).  Also our neighbor was nice enough to let us use his internet until we set ours up.  I wanted to bake cookies for him today, but when I got home (and realized how difficult it is to mix batter with no mixer…), that our baking sheet is too big for our oven.  So I put the cookie dough in the fridge until further notice.

I did manage to catch up on some movies this week (in between grading 112 exams, figuring out grades and making comments using the IB Learner Profile to all of 112 of my students), because, you know, watching movies is my all time favorite past time.  Don’t waste your time with Wanderlust, it’s absolutely terrible (and I loved Wet Hot American Summer), but Troll Hunter, a Norweigen film was quite fun; a spoof of Blair Witch Project meets Leprechaun. It played out really well, the trolls were goofy, yet fun, and over all I found it creative and just a fun movie.

Jeff Who Lives at Home wasn’t horrible, but it wasn’t all that engaging either, but I love me some Jason Segel. I’m not sure I bought the ending or even the build up to the ending, but I thought the actors did a fine job with a mediocre script.  I think Jason Segel probably has chemistry with every actor he encounters, and it’s worth the watch to see him in a more serious role.

Take This Waltz was the last one I watched directed by Sarah Polley (whom I really love, if we pretend that that movie Splice was not part of her resume) and starring Michelle Williams and Seth Rogen. I’m fairly certain that Michelle Williams can do no wrong in my eyes, she is quite brilliant, but the movie didn’t capture my attention as much as I wanted it to.  There are some really gorgeous scenes in it though, often times seeming like the whole thing was a dreamland of some sort.  It made me really want to go to Canada; the outdoors scenes really captures its beauty (or at least what I envision it to be).

We saw Prometheus last week, which I was sooo disappointed with.  I adore Alien, but this movie had a horrible, horrible plot and there was zero chemistry between the two lead characters (who were supposed to be in love).  However, it was absolutely stunning to watch, and I’m not even a 3D fan.  It was worth seeing in the theatre just to see the beauty of this movie (and I would do it again in a heartbeat).

And lastly, the dogs apparently find moving exhausting too:

