The Peruvian government declared yesterday and today holidays due to the South American-Arab Summit being held here in Lima.  I like that the government was just so nonchalant about giving Lima the two days off, which also means that last week was my last full week of school before spring break. Next Monday is a national holiday, the Battle of Angamos (we lost the battle but won the war, so to speak), and this girl is NOT complaining.  I need a holiday.

I am also told that spring break will bring back the sun, something that we haven’t really seen in so long.  I don’t know how people survive the winters here; the grey skies, the foggy mist day in and day out.  I am certainly not cut out for it (which means our next location will be some place like Seattle, LOL). I miss the sun, and I cannot wait for summer.

