I was selected to be a part of the 2014 NYC Teaching Fellow program as well as the spring apprenticeship. I will begin on March 17th, in a Title I school, hopefully somewhere in the Bronx.  The spring apprenticeship goes for 10 weeks, where I will shadow a fellow chemistry teacher and then eventually teach in her/his classroom; I would imagine it is similar to student teaching.  In the summer, I have a 7 week training program, and then I will apply for full time teaching positions that begin in the fall.  The program has a 98% placement rate for chemistry fellows, so I am fairly confident I will land a position.

In the next couple of months, I have to take three certification exams, register for classes (the program will help me gain my Master’s in as little as two years, but more likely three years) and do a whole lot of prep work to get me in the classroom.  But one thing is for sure, this is what I wanted when I decided to go back and study chemistry.  I’m so excited to be back in the classroom, and I am even more excited to be a part of a program that helps the students who need it the most.

And although I am really ready to return to work, I am going to miss Declan a lot.  I have no doubt he will have a blast in daycare, and he probably won’t miss me any where near as much as I will miss him.  I think I will blink, and he’ll be packing for college.

Wish me luck!

Image

